“Unexplored Adventure”

“All of summer stretched out before me: a vast, unexplored adventure. In my arms, I held a package my uncle had given me several weeks before. On the brown wrapping, Uncle Frank had written his instructions: ‘Do not open until summer vacation.” My uncle had sent me the greatest of all gifts: three brand-new Hardy Boys books.

I love the writings of C.S. Lewis, Mark Helprin, Norman Maclean, Frederick Buechner, and Howard Frank Mosher. But nothing will ever compare to the supreme luxury of lying in a cool barn on that first day of vacation and reading The Shore Road Mystery, by Franklin W. Dixon.”

Matthew Sleeth

Leave a Reply

