Hymnology: “My Hope Is Built”

“My Hope Is Built,” written by Edward Mote in 1834, has become one of my all-time favorite hymns. My affections are stirred for Christ every time I get to sing it. I’m thankful that God provides his people with songs like this to sing as the gathered Church, in unity, to affirm the glorious salvation we’ve been given.

This hymn basically expounds on the text of Hebrews 6:13-20, that says God has given His Son, as a “sure and steadfast anchor of the soul,” who has anchored our salvation in “the inner place behind the curtain.” Christ has gone into the very closest place, before the throne of God, and anchored our salvation from our sin there. There is now no dividing wall, as there was with the curtain in the temple, to hinder God’s people from coming to Him as their Father. When I read Hebrews 6, the tune to this hymn often pipes away in the back of my mind.

Since Christ stands on our behalf as both sacrifice and High Priest, our sins are forgiven and we’re adopted as sons of God. Fully adopted. As Steve Lawson says, our adoption God has accomplished through Christ is “the highest rung of salvation.” It cannot get better than this.

So we can sing, with full, complete, unshakable assurance that “My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness,” and “In every high and stormy gale, my Anchor holds within the veil.” In the storms of suffering, and in the storms that our sin rages against our new nature in Christ, our Anchor holds. Because our Anchor is a Person; our salvation is a Person.

I’m so glad Edward Mote penned these words, and I love a hearty singing of em’:

“My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

“On Christ the Solid Rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

“When darkness seems to hide His face,
I rest on His unchanging grace.
In every high and stormy gale,
My Anchor holds within the veil.

“His oath, His covenant, His blood
Support me in the whelming flood.
When all around my soul gives way,
He then is all my Hope and Stay.

“When He shall come with trumpet sound,
O may I then in Him be found!
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne!”

One thought on “Hymnology: “My Hope Is Built”

Leave a Reply

