Hymnology: “Early, My God”

“Early, My God” by Isaac Watts and Sojourn Music

Listen to the track here (you have to find it in the track list on Sojourn’s Bandcamp page).

Early, my God, without delay I haste to seek Your face;

My thirsty spirit fades away without Your cheering grace

My spirit toils with this life’s gloom and fights to stay the course

Remind me of that heaven’ly hour when You first called me Yours.

Early, my God, without delay, before tomorrow’s dawn

The trumpet sound the vict’ry tune because You have returned

Not life itself, with all her joys, will tempt my spirit move

My Maker and my helping Hand, all I need is You.

What I love about this hymn: the theme of setting one’s affections fully on God from the first moment of the day (“Early, my God, without delay I haste to seek Your face). Here also, there’s a theme of seeking God before anything else takes priority.

The theme of the infinite worth of knowing God is included to provide the justification for seeking Him in His word (“My Maker and my helping Hand, all I need is You). Also, the prayer for God to remind us of the joy of knowing Him (“remind me of that heaven’ly hour when You first called me Yours”).

This is a great hymn, with great work on the lyrics, and a great arrangement. Hope you can follow the link above and give it a listen.

Leave a Reply

